Search: E-Books

 
Limiting to: E-Books - clear
1 - 30 of 30 results
  • The ballad of songbirds and snakes [eBook]

    The ballad of songbirds and snakes2020

    by Suzanne Collins

    (151,546)

    Summary: It is the morning of the reaping that will kick off the tenth annual Hunger Games. In the Capitol, eighteen-year-old Coriolanus Snow is preparing for his one shot at glory as a mentor in the Games....  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Dark age [eBook]

    Dark age2019

    by Pierce Brown

    (22,134)

    Summary: "For a decade Darrow led a revolution against the corrupt color-coded Society. Now, outlawed by the very Republic he founded, he wages a rogue war on Mercury in hopes that he can still salvage the...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • The dreamers [eBook] : a novel

    The dreamers : a novel2019

    by Karen Thompson Walker

    (28,329)

    Summary: One night in an isolated college town in the hills of Southern California, a first-year student stumbles into her dorm room, falls asleep, and doesn't wake up. She sleeps through the morning, into...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Early riser [eBook]

    Early riser2019

    by Jasper Fforde

    (10,537)

    Summary: "Imagine a world where all humans must hibernate through a brutally cold winter, their bodies dangerously close to death as they enter an ultra-low metabolic state of utterly dreamless sleep. All...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Wanderers [eBook] : a novel

    Wanderers : a novel2019

    by Chuck Wendig

    (13,296)

    Summary: A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Fall; or, Dodge in hell [eBook] : a novel

    Fall; or, Dodge in hell : a novel2019

    by Neal Stephenson

    (12,027)

    Summary: "In his youth, Richard "Dodge" Forthrast founded Corporation 9592, a gaming company that made him a multibillionaire. Now in his middle years, Dodge appreciates his comfortable, unencumbered life,...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • After the flood [eBook] : a novel

    After the flood : a novel2019

    by Kassandra Montag

    (11,350)

    Summary: "A little more than a century from now, our world has been utterly transformed. After years of slowly overtaking the continent, rising floodwaters have obliterated America's great coastal cities and...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Internment [eBook]

    Internment2019

    by Samira Ahmed

    Summary: "Rebellions are built on hope. It's been one year since the census landed seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her family on the registry. Five months since the attorney general argued that Korematsu v....  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Smoke and iron [eBook] : the Great Library

    Smoke and iron : the Great Library2018

    by Rachel Caine

    (4,473)

    Summary: "To save the Great Library, the unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone, Paper and Fire, and Ash and Quill put themselves in danger in the next thrilling adventure in the New York Times...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Vox [eBook]

    Vox2018

    by Christina Dalcher

    (52,797)

    Summary: On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than one hundred words per day, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial. This can't happen here. Not in America. Not to her. This is...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Iron gold [eBook]

    Iron gold2018

    by Pierce Brown

    (44,333)

    Summary: "Ten years after the events of Morning Star, Darrow and the Rising are battling the remaining Gold loyalist forces and are closer than ever to abolishing the color-coded caste system of Society for...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Red clocks [eBook] : a novel

    Red clocks : a novel2018

    by Leni Zumas

    (18,335)

    Summary: Five women--including a high school teacher, a pregnant teenager, and a forest-dwelling homeopath--struggle with changes in a near-future America where abortion and assisted fertility have been...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Restore me [eBook]

    Restore me2018

    by Tahereh Mafi

    (38,006)

    Summary: "It's been sixteen days since Juliette Ferrars killed the supreme commander of North America and took over as ruler of the Reestablishment on the continent ... Juliette thought she'd won. She took...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • The marrow thieves [eBook]

    The marrow thieves2017

    by Cherie Dimaline

    (13,251)

    Summary: "In a future world ravaged by global warming, people have lost the ability to dream, and the dreamlessness has led to widespread madness. The only people still able to dream are North America's...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Ash and quill [eBook] : the Great Library

    Ash and quill : the Great Library2017

    by Rachel Caine

    (6,713)

    Summary: "The unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone and Paper and Fire unite to save the Great Library of Alexandria from itself in this electrifying adventure in the New York Times bestselling series....  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • American war [eBook]

    American war2017

    by Omar El Akkad

    (29,024)

    Summary: "An audacious and powerful debut novel: a second American Civil War, a devastating plague, and one family caught deep in the middle--a story that asks what might happen if America were to turn its...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Borne [eBook]

    Borne2017

    by Jeff VanderMeer

    (23,963)

    Summary: "'Am I a person?' Borne asks Rachel, in extremis. 'Yes, you are a person, ' Rachel tells him. 'But like a person, you can be a weapon, too.' In a ruined, nameless city of the future, Rachel makes her...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Sleeping beauties [eBook] : a novel

    Sleeping beauties : a novel2017

    by Stephen King

    (63,710)

    Summary: "In a future so real and near it might be now, something happens when women go to sleep: they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If they are awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Year one [eBook]

    Year one2017

    by Nora Roberts

    Summary: "A stunning new novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author--an epic of hope and horror, chaos and magic, and a journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Future home of the living god [eBook] : a novel

    Future home of the living god : a novel2017

    by Louise Erdrich

    Summary: A tale set in a world of reversing evolution and a growing police state follows pregnant thirty-two-year-old Cedar Hawk Songmaker, who investigates her biological family while awaiting the birth of a...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Maggot moon [downloadable ebook]

    Maggot moon2013

    by Sally Gardner

    (8,537)

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • The time machine [downloadable ebook]

    The time machine2012

    by H. G. Wells

    (410,017)

    Summary: H. G. Wells' The Time Machine, from 1895, popularized the idea of a vehicle that allows its user to travel intentionally and selectively across time, and indeed Wells is credited with coining the...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Inside out [downloadable ebook]

    Inside out2010

    by Maria Snyder V

    (23,603)

    Summary: "...I'm Trella. I'm a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping inside clean for the Uppers. I've got one friend, do my job, and try to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if I...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Witch & wizard [downloadable ebook]

    Witch & wizard2009

    by James Patterson

    (52,965)

    Summary: A sister and brother, along with thousands of young people, have been kidnapped and either thrown in prison or turned up missing after accusations of witchcraft were made against them, and the ruling...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • The year of the flood [downloadable ebook] / a novel

    The year of the flood / a novel2009

    by Margaret Atwood

    (70,880)

    Summary: When a natural disaster predicted by God's Gardeners leader Adam One obliterates most human life, two survivors trapped inside respective establishments that metaphorically represent paradise and hell wonder if any of their loved ones have survived.

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Shades of grey [downloadable ebook] / the road to High Saffron

    Shades of grey / the road to High Saffron2009

    by Jasper Fforde

    (32,315)

    Summary: Welcome to Chromatacia, where for as long as anyone can remember society has been ruled by a Colortocracy. Social hierachy is based upon one's limited color perception. society is dominated by...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Vulcan's hammer [downloadable ebook]

    Vulcan's hammer2004

    by Philip K Dick

    (2,044)

    Summary: Confronted by a dangerous movement of religious fanatics and challenges to its authorities, the Vulcan 3, an objective, unbiased, and hyperrational computer that dictates policy for all citizens--an...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • Animal farm and 1984 [eBook]

    Animal farm and 19842003

    by George Orwell

    (163,008)

    Summary: This edition features George Orwell's best known novels – 1984 and Animal Farm – with an introduction by Christopher Hitchens. All animals are equals but some animals are more equal than others....  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • The handmaid's tale [downloadable ebook]

    The handmaid's tale1986

    by Margaret Atwood

    (1,448,141)

    Summary: "This visionary novel. in which God and Government are joined, and America is run as a Puritanical Theoracy, can be read as a companion volume to Orwell's 1984-its verso, in fact. It gives you the...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...

  • 1984 [eBook]

    19841984

    by George Orwell

    (3,117,304)

    Summary: Depicts life in a totalitarian regime in the year 1984. Winston Smith is a worker at the Ministry of Truth, where he falsifies records for the party. Secretly subversive, he and his colleague Julia...  more »

    EBOOK

    checking availability...