The Sound Of Gravel : A Memoir

The Sound Of Gravel : A Memoir



copies in: 1 of 1

place hold (0)


Summary: The true story of one girl's coming-of-age in a polygamist family. Ruth Wariner was the thirty-ninth of her father's forty-two children. Growing up on a farm in rural Mexico, where authorities turn a blind eye to the practices of her community, Ruth lives in a ramshackle house without indoor plumbing or electricity. At church, preachers teach that God will punish the wicked by destroying the world and that women can only ascend to Heaven by entering into polygamous marriages and giving birth to as many children as possible. After Ruth's father--the founding prophet of the colony--is brutally murdered by his brother in a bid for church power, her mother remarries, becoming the second wife of another faithful congregant. In need of government assistance and supplemental income, Ruth and her siblings are carted back and forth between Mexico and the United States, where Ruth's mother collects welfare and her stepfather works a variety of odd jobs. Ruth comes to love the time she spends in...  more »
Call Number Location Status Due Date
B WARINERAdult BiographiesIn

Details & Subjects

Edition Statement :

First edition.

Content :

The promised land -- Babylon -- Alone -- Breaking.

Publication, Distribution, etc. :

New York : Flatiron Books, 2016.



Physical Description :

342 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm

Subjects :
Genres :