Library Board

Trustees are appointed by the mayor to six-year terms and serve as the administrative board for the library. The trustees employ a director who is responsible for the library's day-to-day operation. The Board of Trustees meets at 5:30 pm on the third Thursday at the library unless noted otherwise. Meetings are open to the public. View the Board Bylaws

Kelly McAlister

President, Term ends 2026
Kelly McAlister is an educator for the Johnston Community School District. "The library is my family's favorite place in Johnston," McAlister says. "I would like to help it continue to serve our residents."

Dan Marvin

Vice President, Term ends 2022
Dan is a long-time Johnston resident and library user. He's a member of the Johnston Lions Club and recently retired from his position as an attorney for the State of Iowa.

Megan Tooker

Secretary - Term ends 2022
Megan is an attorney for the State of Iowa and an avid gardener. As a regular library user, she's been excited about recent programs and services and joined the board to help the library continue to be a vibrant, relevant resource for the citizens of Johnston.

Katie Fiala

Term ends 2024
Katie visits the Library weekly with her family. Katie thinks the library is a great asset to the community. Katie grew up in Johnston and has been back as an adult for five years. She works as a government attorney and her first job as a teenager was working at the library.

Robert Marvin

Term ends 2026
Robert Marvin has a background in education and information technology and security. He believes that "Libraries and the services they provide are integral components to a healthy community."